- Hawaii High School Athletic Association
NFHS Learning Center
Play Smart. Play Hard.

(Sat) October 31, 2015

HHSAA CROSS COUNTRY: Iolani Boys and Punahou Girls Takes home Division I Championship Titles

The 51st running of the Honolulu Marathon/HHSAA Cross Country State Championships took place Oct. 31, 2015, in clear skies at the Seabury Hall campus in Makawao, Maui.
In the boys race, Iolani captured its second-straight Division I championship with a score of 79, followed by Punahou with 100.  In the fourth year of the Division II team category, Hawaii Prep defended its state title with its second-straight championship, scoring 265, closely followed by Hawaii Baptist with 299.
But the highlight of the boys race was the finish-line crossing of Kamehameha senior Kaeo Kruse with a time of 15:22.23, outdistancing the rest of the field by more than 52 seconds, capturing his third-straight gold medal.  Waiakea’s Louie Ondo took home the silver with a time of 16:15.10.
In the girls race, Punahou captured its 10th state title in 11 years under head coach Duncan Macdonald with a team score of 46, trailed by Iolani with 108.  In Division II, Seabury captured its fourth-straight team title in as many years as the classification, with an impressive 104 score. Big Island power Hawaii Prep finished second with 250.
Iolani senior Amanda Beaman captured her second-straight individual gold with a time of 18:26.74, followed by Punahou’s Teresa Brady with 18:43.92.